top of page

New Year, New Hair

Updated: Sep 10, 2023

If you follow me on social media, you knew this was coming. Diana is shorter and I'm loving it!





Hey Lovelies! I FINALLY got the hair cut I have wanted for so long! I have been drooling over a haircut by Kara Williams of K Louise Boutique Salon in Philadelphia, PA. Unfortunately, Kara stopped taking new clients. NEVERTHELESS, I knew I was going to get a seat in the salon. I knew another stylist at K Louise Boutique that was more than capable of cutting my hair in the inspiration of the heart-shaped cut.


Remember the CROWN Act short video I modeled last summer? This opportunity connected me to the beautiful Marisa Peal. K Louise is her home base! You want to know how amazing she is? I have attempted to book an appointment for MONTHS! She is booked and busy. Thankfully, I needed to use up the rest of my vacation days at work. I book my January appoint in December. After that, let the wait begin!


“I have attempted to book an appointment for MONTHS! She is booked and busy.”


The Salon


K Louise Boutique Salon is located in the Manayunk section of Philadelphia, PA. It is very easy to find the salon in a business strip with metered and neighborhood parking. I easily found neighborhood parking right around the corner. My service was scheduled for 3 hours. I did not want to be bothered with metered parking (which can be monitored via an app).


Because of the pandemic, clients must call the salon when they arrive before entering to ensure social distancing. When I entered, Marisa gave me hand sanitizer (which she also used). The stations are separated by plexiglass. Masks are required. I felt completely safe. The stylists were all double masked (as was I per my preference). The level of sanitation is top notch. Every chair a client was in was immediately sanitized after use. Since only two stylists were in that day, there was only one other client. At most, there were three clients in the salon.


The Service


I booked the Cut Me Natural service. It is a 2h 45min service that includes a trim/cut/shaping (basically any use of scissors) on blow dried hair, hair washing, and the choice of twist out, wash and go or finger coil out styling. The service is over $100 with actual pricing dependent on the stylist performing the service. Upon booking, you know exactly how much your service costs.


The Experience


Since Marisa knew I was okay with being on social media, we had a ball! The salon has a media room in the back for before and after photos. It is quite inspiring! On the plain wall, we took photos and videos of my hair upon arrival. Thankfully, my service is best on freshly washed hair so I had a second day wash and go with a leave-in and hair smoothie.


After the quick shoot, Marisa and I discussed my hair cut. It was pretty easy since she knew the photo I was stalking. She blew out my hair pretty quickly and began cutting. The pile of hair that was on the floor... IT WAS SO SATISFYING! Check out our shenanigans.



After cutting the general shape of my hair, Marisa washed my hair letting the conditioner sit for a few minutes. I didn't have a deep conditioning service added. It was so relaxing especially when she massaged my scalp. If you want a black woman, self-care, luxury experience, this was it.


After washing, we went back to the chair to style. We decided to do wash and go styling so she could see the shape in my natural state. The curls at the top of my head (primarily the crown) are no where near as tight as the curls on the back and sides. She raked and shingled my hair in small sections. My hair was so easy to style. Detangling was minimal. My hair felt amazing without even touching it. Marisa was even expressing how great my hair felt. Once again, I felt satisfaction with my decision to cut my hair. After applying the styler, she diffused my hair which took about 25 minutes. Once dry, she cleaned up the cut and shape of my hair.


Once Marisa finished my service, we went back to the media room and took so many photos and videos. I had so much fun and extremely happy!


The Result


Oh.... I was feeling myself after the appointment.


Here's a view from Marisa's side of the appointment!


I highly recommend not only Marisa but K Louise Boutique Salon as a whole. I'm still stalking the owner Kara's instagram to see the client that she had while I was there. Until then, I look forward to my next service... which might involve color.


Spoiler alert: My next service with Marisa indeed involved color.


Until next time Lovelies!


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page