top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaturelle D

Being Tenderheaded Is For The Birds

That's it. That's the title.



Where is my tenderheaded coalition? I know I am not alone in the Big Tears Brigade. You remember them crocodile tears that would fall no matter how old you were when it was hair time. Sure, you got used to it. You stopped shedding tears. You grew up. That doesn't mean the scalp gave up that life.


Full disclosure, I was born premature. My scalp is tender exactly where they said the needles were placed. Yes, that's right. I had needles in my head. The story is my tiny baby head was shaved (literally....they cut my baby hairs!). They could keep putting the needles in my little arms. The next option was my head. My mom, aunties, and all the church aunties and mothers prayed over me and my head. Yes, they prayed I would have a full head of beautiful hair.


Baby.... this head is full! All glory to my Heavenly Father. But uh, BRUH! Why do I have to STILL be tenderheaded. I am a grown woman that has cried in a salon chair. Boo, I was in my 20s. I remember like it was yesterday. (Uh, no it was NOT yesterday. Thank you very much. #babyfacegang #blackdontcrack) This kind stylist (not my stylist but a recommendation for a wedding I was in) put the relaxer in my hair any ole kind of way. I mean it. I have never seen a more random part having relaxer put in anyone's head. Let alone my own. Somehow, the relaxer (touch up) ended up all over. However along the way, I cried as she ripped through my hair. I don't even remember my hair being combed through prior. All I know is, I had not felt that kind of pain in YEARS. The tears fell as I was in silent agony. Whew chile. I'll leave it at that. My sisterfriend received wonderful text messages from me letting her know to be prepared to rehab my hair.

“I'm a grown woman that has cried in a salon chair”

That was the last time I cried while getting my hair done. However, my scalp gets tender every so often. Today is one of them. Sometimes it is hard to quickly remedy the situation when it could be anything. I change my part. I kept parts in too long (my twists or braids). I waited too long between wash days. The wind blew. Listen, this scalp doesn't care. But relief is possible. I just have to figure out what will work today.


Let's look at some ways to bring comfort to a hurting head.


Seven Sore Scalp Remedies

  1. Go to sleep.

  2. Put in or take out a ponytail holder.

  3. Unravel the twists or braids.

  4. Gently massage the area that is tender or sore.

  5. Oil the scalp.

  6. Use a dry shampoo.

  7. Wash day.

These are my most common remedies. One remedy might suffice. Other times, it could be a combination of remedies. Considering I washed my hair two days ago, my next option is oil my scalp. Massaging is a temporary solution this time. This feels like possible inflammation. In which case, I start with my oil mix: coconut, peppermint, and tea tree oils. If the soreness persists in a few days, wash day will need to be a detox day. If you viewed my washing series post regarding shampooing, this is a rare time I may pre-poo with an ACV rinse. This may also call for clarifying shampoo only. I also have a detox deep conditioner.


This could also be allergy related. Like I said, the scalp acts up when it wants. Seasons change. So does your body.


Let me know what are some of your remedies for a sore scalp. As always, let's help each other.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page