top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaturelle D

Mother's Day Memories

Hey ND Fam. I'm a tad bit behind on my blog this week. I wasn't sure what to discuss since it was Mother's Day weekend. It's just been a rough two weeks in general. Life, chile. Life.


I couldn't go this week without writing about my angel. My mother is still my inspiration. To put it into context, I have lived more years without her than with her. I was blessed to spend almost 16 years with my mom. I count it a blessing. There are women roaming this earth that have less time or no time with their mother. I don't take it for granted.


Some of my most cherished memories of my mom are centered around my hair. Wash day was an EVENT! As I recently discussed, I am tenderheaded with a WHOLE head of hair on my peanut head. For the record, this is all her fault. Hehe. My mom had a ton of hair as well. But as I have heard over the years, my hair is an answer to her prayers.


When I was born, I was a month and a day early and had jaundice. I was also a tiny tot for Christ. Needless to say, my little self was transferred to the NICU at a local hospital. Meaning, I was transferred to a different hospital a town over. There were needles...lights...the whole bit. The doctors didn't want to keep sticking my baby arms with needles so they opted to shave my head. My little head had no hair, chile. So of course, all the church mothers and my pastors were praying for my healing. But my mom also prayed for my hair. She prayed that I would have a full head of hair.


After a few weeks in the hospital, they took me home and the rest is history. A history of a full head of hair down my back at a young age. The Lord heard her cry and answered her plea. She forgot to ask that I would not have a tenderhead. Ah well! You learn to live with it. It took me a LONG time to deal with it. She would do my hair late and I would fall asleep in her lap. (Huh. This explains why I do my hair at midnight. HA!) It was our thing. My aunt (mom's mirror identical twin!) would come over and try to entertain me some days. My mom would braid my hair and my aunt would read from my joke books. That was our "triplet" time. (I stole my mom's whole face.)


My mom wasn't fully into makeup. She was one for presentation of hair. She let me have my crazy hair moments after I learned to do my own hair. (I was a very active kid.) One thing that was unspoken, she wanted me to be happy with me. She wanted me to be secure in my presentation. My hair is my crown and glory no matter if it was long or short.


My mom always had shoulder length hair. Even during her fight against cancer, she went natural and always tried to remain presentable for herself....and me. I remember there were days in the hospital, she wouldn't let me see her. I took a peak anyway. I saw the needles and tubes. She was fighting for her life. I didn't care what it all looked like. I just wanted her to know that I saw her fight and that I loved her. Straight hair. Curly hair. Pressed hair. Bangs. A flip. I lived for all of it. One of my aunts would braid her hair while she was sick. She needed it for her. It made her happy. It was a small thing. And she certainly taught me that hair is not the main thing. Present who you are for you and no one else. Be my authentic self. That's all she ever wanted.


Not exactly where I thought I would go with this post. But, I needed this. After 20+ years, you take solace in memories. Here's to my angel. I still love her. I see her in my aunt every day. Even better, I'm starting to see her in me.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page