top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaturelle D

Wash Day Routine: Cleansing

It's a Wash Day Routine Series! In this blog series, get the details of my wash day routine. My main focus is the washing process. Styling will fill in as we go. Keep scrolling and get your best wash day experience.


Hey ND Fam! This is the first installment of my wash day routine series. If you don't have a firm foundation, you can't expect your hair to flourish when styling. In order to put your best foot forward, you need a steady base. The washing process consists of three main components: Cleansing, Conditioning, and Detangling. Today's focus is cleansing.

“If you don't have a firm foundation, you can't expect your hair to flourish when styling.”

Cleansing


You are probably thinking "but where is your pre-poo step?" Sorry boo. I don't have one. I personally don't believe in a pre-poo. Your hair has product buildup, sweat, sebum, and the like already present. Why do I want to add an oil on top of that? Any product. My goal is to safely remove all of that and open the cuticle. If that's what your hair calls for, by all means. If I notice something is amiss with my tresses, I MIGHT (hesitantly) consider a pre-poo. At best, I will use a scalp spray. I am tender-headed. If anything needs a pre-poo step, it is my scalp. Not my hair. (Note: if something is absolutely amiss, it's time to schedule a visit with a licensed stylist and/or your physician.) For regular maintenance of my hair, I go straight to shampoo. Ask yourself, does a stylist pre-poo your hair? Just food for thought.



Shampoo! Yes, shampoo. Not a co-wash. A shampoo. "But, they have sulfates." Not all of them. But to that end, didn't you use sulfate when you had a relaxer? Think about it. The layers of hair did not change because you had a relaxer. The bonds were broken and reformed to flatten the layers. Straight hair distributes sebum faster than curly hair. That is the main difference. (I'm not going to get into damage at this point. If you want more on damage, let me know.) Your main concerns as a curly girl is what is happening with the cuticle layer and moisture-protein balance. Co-washes are acceptable every once in a while or in-between #washday (like after a workout if you aren't ready to a full wash day).


Back to shampooing. I shampoo 2 times. First, I use a clarifying shampoo to remove the tough stuff. I focus the shampoo on my scalp. This is the only time I rely on the "travel down method". (This isn't a real term.) Simply, as the suds inherently travel down the shaft of my hair, it picks up debris and rinses away. Second, I use a moisturizing shampoo (sometimes a co-wash) for my entire head, scalp and hair. I begin again with my scalp and deliberately bring the shampoo down the length of my hair.



IMPORTANT: Keep everything in a downward motion. Please (PLEASE) do not smash your hair on your head or pile your hair at the top of your head. Gently rake the shampoo down your hair. If your shampoo has enough slip, this is a slight finger detangling process as well. You should begin seeing shed hair sliding out (sliding, NOT pulling). If you co-wash, this process is the same.


Breakdown Method: The first wash is completed in two sections (part down the middle). The second wash is completed in four sections.


Water Temperature: I use warm/hot water. My goal is to open up the cuticle. You don't want to burn your scalp off. You want a warmer temperature that is tolerable. Bare in mind, I wash my hair in the shower. I also do not use high pressure water. When possible, turn off that water boo. Save your coins.


You are ready to condition! Next step is to replenish the hair.


Disclaimer: This entire process may seem like I do the most and use a ton of water. I promise, the water pressure is on low and the water is off when not used. My hair is longer so I need to wash in the shower. When I had short hair, I was cool at the sink.


Thanks for making it to the end! I hope this shines some light on your wash routine. Glean what you can. Try a tip or two. Find what works for you. Just make sure you are cleansing, conditioning, and detangling sufficiently.


Drop a question in the contact form or comment below. Let's help each other.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page