top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaturelle D

Tenderheaded Chronicles: Flat twist style

Hello, my name is Naturelle D and I am the president and CEO of the Tenderheaded Naturals group.



SIS! How do you do these styles?!? This flat twist style is one day old. I want to take it out. But, it's so cute. I love it! It hates me. Help!!! I really hope this eases up as I go along.


Additionally, let us discuss how my edges are laid for the first time ever. I never do my edges. Why? I have curly hair. Get. In. To. It. Is it neat? Okay then. You will get this curly edges and that's that on that. I don't know how ladies do it. It's also just not my style. I am a dainty yet edgy lady. (That pun was not intended.) It's really just not my thing.


Well, I will attempt some of my remedies to avoid wash day. I want to prolong this a full week which is my normal wash schedule. It will be roughly 9 days between washes. A report will follow. Wish me luck!



(3 days later...)


Truth is.... I didn't do anything but cover it up with my scarf as soon as I got home from work and called it a day. I will need to refresh my hair so oiling my scalp is a must or else I will be itching. The black girl pat has been in full effect. A few times, I had to stop myself from just scratching. I'm so used to digging my finger in my hair and scratching, I have to be super conscious about not messing up the style. So far, just a few flyaways as expected. My side burn "undercut" has slightly grown out because I didn't shave high enough a few months ago when I trimmed the hair back down. I can finesse that on Sunday. I think I will braid this hair up tonight. Ugh, who even knows. It is currently sitting in a bun that I really should take down. I have a "don't rush" video I need to record. It's my second... maybe third... reason why I need to refresh the style. Pray my strength.


(a few days later...chile don't ask me how many days. What day IS it???)


Well, I washed my hair after a week in the style. I prolonged the soreness by oiling my scalp with my hair oil mix. Yes, I have an oil mix specifically for my scalp. You better believe that tea tree and peppermint oils are involved. It actually did help. Also, the tightness of the style let up after a while. However, my scalp that is exposed because of the parts just acted a fool every night. No matter what I did, she was not having any part of the Diana Ross realness.


Two days prior to washing, I unraveled the outer flat twists. It absolutely made a difference. Once those parts where gone, I felt the relief. However, I knew the true resolution was to wash my hair. I have never had that much product in my hair. My ends where acting up. My scalp was being her full self. I will say, the parts of my hair contained in the flat twist where immaculate.



I have come to the conclusion that I need a stronger gel. It's not that I didn't know it. I didn't want to do it. I'm not the biggest fan of gel. What I see is that it is one of the best sealants for my hair. Do I need to use more oil? Yes. Do I feel like it? No. Look, I'm a real woman over here. I don't always want to do things as well. Some days, I want the lazy way out....in the safest manner possible.



My closest people will tell you I do the most with my steps and processes. Truth is, it just sounds like a lot. I hope my wash day routine posts show that it's really not a lot at all.


I have no idea how we landed here. Here we are. In the end, washing my hair was the route to scalp relief. Now this dryness on the other hand is a different animal. I'll cover that in a later post.


If you made it to the end, thanks for rocking with me. Let me know how you maintain your scalp with all these fabulous styles. Let's help each other.


All the blessings!



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page