top of page
  • Writer's pictureNaturelle D

The Bachelor: Natural Hair Commentary

Hey Curl Friends! Any The Bachelor fans out there? I'm not. But I had to watch this season!


After 24 seasons, the show finally has a man of color. Mr. Matt James. After finding out halfway through the season the lead was a black man, I had to dive in to see what would be aired. Plus, I had to discuss the hair. Let's face it. Kinks don't get the same love as curls. Neither get the same respect as straight.


Full disclosure, I originally watched episodes 5 through the end (post show). Eventually, I went back and watched episodes 1 through 4. I'm going to keep this to a natural hair discussion in the context of dating. And black women and dating. You get my drift. If you want my overall thoughts, let me know.


Grab your popcorn, boo. Here we go!


There were 37 total women! (That's a whole blog on its own. I won't even respect #38 that showed up on the scene. Let me focus.) I was EXCITED to see more than three sistas! We witness black women with straight hair to TWAs to protective styles to curls! Unfortunately, there was a lack of kinks. Was I personally represented? Not exactly. I don't usually expect to be represented since my curls are their own vibe.


I am happy to see a black man on the show who appreciated all the styles. However, I take note to the naturalistas. Shout out to the flat ironed or relaxed sistas. I was rooting for you as well (chile anyone melaninated).


Let's begin with Chelsea and her model self and this TWA! Come on, sis! When Matt commented on her hair, I had high hopes. I NEEDED her to get a one-on-one date. I held my breath, chile. But alas.... she was cut in episode 7. She made it to top 10! (Chelsea very well could be one of many black women that have made it to this point. Let me know because I don't watch. Honestly, I wouldn't be shocked if she is... primarily as a brown naturalista.)


Chelsea is a beauty. Looking at her show profile, she's an educated woman not afraid to take risks. I need her to have a real favorite food but that's not the point. Not being selected for a one-on-one date was a hurt piece. Her chances dwindled exponentially because she didn't have that focused day. Of course, that hurt all of the ladies. However, it was clear he was interested in her when they did chat early on. He kept her around. I don't think that was for show. Matt seemed genuinely invested. Nevertheless, not having that solo date made a difference. Factor in the continued drama at the cocktail parties, her chances were plummeting. I hope and pray Chelsea is living her best life and finds the man of her dreams sooner rather than later.


Next, my girls Magi and Ryan. Both ladies made it to episode 6, top 14. Ryan was a late comer (chile that was a whole mess on its own lol) but pushed through. Magi started at the top of the show. She has a whole PhD, honey! Neither ladies were given the opportunity of the one-on-one date. I think Matt was invested in them but when it got to the top 11, it was clear he didn't have the same connection with either lady. These ladies are more on the type 3 spectrum. I was watching the show wondering if either one of them would be caught looking disheveled. In my opinion, looser textures are more pliable. However, the camera can take a seemingly put together messy bun and make it look a whole HOT mess with one wrong angle. It's amazing how someone with less curly hair can have a messy bun and it's high fashion. Magi and Ryan were camera ready at all times. Even relaxing and waiting for the date cards, hair was relatively in place.


Another notable lady is Khaylah, the healthcare advocate. She was the North Carolina storm I needed! I didn't know Matt was from NC. So when it came up out the gate, she was my front runner. I hoped that common ground would push her ahead. At first, it did. They connected fairly quickly. Unfortunately, sis only made it to episode 4. The five new ladies showed up and Khaylah got kicked to the curb. She would have definitely made it otherwise. I was HURT, honey. As for the hair, I was wondering what she rocked underneath. Girl, is that a sew in? A wig? What brand? Talk to me. (I know NOTHING about wigs and weaves personally. I can only tell you what friends have shared.) But alas, she left the show too early. Sis, I know there is a man out there that appreciates a woman who can drive a truck in a gown. I truly believe Matt missed out on this one.


Now, we HAVE to discuss Pieper and all her curly girl glory. She made it all the way to (the end of) episode 7, top 5. Whew chile, I didn't know how she would fair with her emotions. She finally had a one-on-one date in episode 6. While they could be a great match, I want her to experience more life. My FAVORITE Pieper moment is when Heather tried to explain herself to the group. Pieper said I don't care about a single thing you have to say. You interrupted my time and didn't address me. I want an apology.

BA-BY! Whew, that was a black moment. How dare you come in and not address everyone in the room. Pieper was through honey. She just professed her "love" and then gets interrupted. I felt the disrespect. Her response was GOLD! Her hair matched her energy. The curls behaved. That top knot was slicked up. But she also had moments where the bun was neat but the curls in the kitchen were unbothered. THIS is real life people. Edges and kitchens won't always be slicked. WE HAVE CURLY HAIR! She didn't have swooped edges. Pieper boo... I love you, sis. You may not have won Matt's heart. But, you have so much to offer this world. Finish that degree. Push the envelope. I hope you get more outward expression from your mother.


There were other wonderful shades of melanin in pursuit of Matt James' heart. Oh, Michelle. It should have been you. But alas, the vacuum experience wins again. Rachel won because she had the most real life experience inside the bubble. Plus, Matt flat out looked at her differently much earlier than the rest. I don't care what anyone says, Mama James loved Michelle. Also looking back at Matt's rose ceremony to select the top 4, I hated that Michelle and Pieper were the last two chosen. Side eye to production.


Alright Curl Friends, that's my examination of the curls on The Bachelor. Okay and a bit of overall commentary. Chile, I'm just happy it wasn't all relaxers, extensions, and wigs. I needed two good sistas to step out the limo either with type 4 hair or braids. Next time!


Thanks for indulging my commentary. Trust me. There is a LOT more. If and when I get the rest of my thoughts together, maybe I will drop another installment.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page